Collective greatness

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Kayla Rorick
  • 157th Air Refueling Wing
Another busy year filled with challenges and successes has flown by here. The annual commander's call luncheon, Dec. 4, gave New Hampshire National Guard state leadership, the governor and family members the opportunity to recognize outstanding performers throughout the wing.

"Today's honorees truly represent the collective greatness of this wing." said Command Chief Master Sgt. James Lawrence, the wing's senior enlisted member, who manages the award program.

Chief Master Sgt. Donald Souron, the master of ceremonies, helped to formally recognize the airmen, noncommissioned officers, and company grade officers from throughout the wing who competed to be known as the best within their respective categories.

Airman of the Year: Staff Sgt. Caleb Cejka of the 157th Mission Support Group, for his understanding, acceptance, and ability to demonstrate the Air Force core values, setting himself apart as a wingman and future leader. 

NCO of the Year: Staff Sgt. Brittney Wyatt of the 157th Medical Group for being able to lead by example, exhibit professional behavior, military bearing, respect for authority, and to instill professional behaviors in subordinates.

Senior NCO of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Laurice Souron of the 157th Wing Staff for her professionalism, pride, and competence while serving as a role model for all airmen to emulate.

First Sgt. Of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Jessica McWain of the 157th Operations Group for her exceptional ability, dedication and commitment to the organization.

The enlisted award winners received a plaque, a one-year memberships to the Air Force Sergeants Association, the Enlisted Association of the National Guard of the United States, and to Mission's End. They won a certificate and gift card from Army and Air Force Exchange Service, a gift card from Service Credit Union and a $100 gift from the Chief's Group. Winners also received a 60th Anniversary Poster of the KC-135.

Three other award winners were also recognized for their contributions within the wing.

Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Jennifer Delker of the 157th Medical Group for her displayed leadership abilities which exemplify the ideals of duty, honor, and country.

Honor Guard Member of the Year: Master Sgt. Robert Rojek of the 157th Force Support Squadron for demonstrating high levels of character, integrity, and ethical conduct both on, and off-duty as a military ambassador to the local community.

The Spirit of Hope award winner: Senior Airman Ashlyn Correia of the 157 ARW Public Affairs, for embodying the values of duty, honor, courage, loyalty, commitment, and integrity as she maintained the morale and spirit of her military family.

In addition to those presentations, Cejka, Wyatt, and [Senior Master Sgt.] Souron became eligible to wear the New Hampshire National Guard Outstanding Airman of the Year ribbon.

Reflecting upon the overall dedication and pride with which the 157 ARW has served, Gov. Maggie Hassan said. "I want you to know that I could not be prouder to be your commander in chief. Because of all of you, our country is safer and our freedom is stronger."