157th Air Refueling Wing Celebrates 2022 Accomplishments

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Tim Hayden
  • 157th Air Refueling Wing

PEASE AIR NATIONAL GUARD BASE, N.H. – As 2022 comes to a close, the 157th Air Refueling Wing celebrates and reflects on the accomplishments of the wing and its Airmen during the commander’s call luncheon Dec. 4, 2022 at Pease Air National Guard Base, New Hampshire.

Gen. Michael Minihan, commander of the Air Mobility Command, addressed the Airmen and families of the 157th and applauded their notable achievements as a team.

“I don't think there's a better team on the planet,” said Minihan. “You guys are the definition of accelerate change to win.”

Master Sgt. Thomas Watson and Senior Airman Anothony Farrow, members of the 157th Logistics Readiness Squadron, served as the master of ceremonies for the event. They recognized the Airmen, noncommissioned officers and company grade officers who distinguished themselves from their peers as future leaders and exceptional mentors.

Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Jared Hakala of the 157th Maintenance Group, for knowing and understanding the wingman concept, demonstrating effective followership and continuing professional development through on and off duty education.

NCO of the Year: Staff Sgt. Adam Kenchion of the 157th Mission Support Group, for his leadership, professional behavior, military bearing, respect for authority and ability to instill professional behaviors in subordinates.

Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. David Caton of the 157th Maintenance Group, for epitomizing excellence, professionalism, pride, and competence while serving as a role model for all Airmen to emulate.

Company grade officer of the year: Maj. Andrew Rodriguez of the 157th Mission Support Group, for displaying leadership that exemplifies the ideals of duty, honor, and country.

1st Sgt. of the Year: Master Sgt. Traci Renzella-Molis of the 157th Mission Support Group, for her exceptional ability, dedication and commitment to the organization and its people.

The enlisted members were awarded a one-year membership to the Air Force Sergeants Association, the Enlisted Association of the National Guard of the United States, and a gift card to Mission’s End. They won a Minute Man Fund coin, a gift card from Service Credit Union and a $100 gift from the Chief’s Group.

These members also became eligible to wear the New Hampshire National Guard Outstanding Airman of the Year ribbon.

Two other award winners were also recognized for their contributions within the wing.

Honor Guard Member of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Frederick Horne of the 157th Civil Engineering Squadron, for demonstrating the highest level of character, integrity and ethical conduct both on and off duty.

The Spirit of Hope award Winner: Senior Airman Temika Lyman, of the 157th Wing Staff, for embodying the values of duty, honor, courage, loyalty, commitment and integrity.

Col. Nelson Perron, commander of the 157th Air Refueling Wing, reflected on the deployments, training, and humanitarian efforts put forth by the wing throughout the past year.

“Amazing, that’s the only word I can find to describe the work you have done this year," said Perron. “You all truly amaze me, day in and day out. I can’t wait to see what this wing accomplishes together in 2023.”