Wing of Professionalism and Dedication

  • Published
  • By By Airman 1st Class Victoria Nelson
  • 157th Air Refueling Wing
As 2017 comes to a close, the 157th Air Refueling Wing celebrates and reflects on the accomplishments of the wing and its Airmen during the commander’s call luncheon December 3, 2017 at Pease Air National Guard Base, New Hampshire. 

Chief Master Sgt. David Obertanec, state command chief of the New Hampshire Air National Guard, addressed the Airmen and families of the 157th.
“I am overwhelmed with your professionalism and dedication,” he said. “We ask a lot of you and your families and you never fail.”

Chief Master Sgt. Robert Wheaton, aircraft maintenance superintendent of the 157th Maintenance Squadron, who served as the master of ceremonies for the event, recognized the Airmen, noncommissioned officers and company grade officers who distinguished themselves from their peers as future leaders and exceptional mentors.

Airman of the Year: Staff Sgt. Shantelle Berry of the 157th Mission Support Group (MSG), for knowing and understanding the wingman concept, demonstrating effective followership and continuing professional development through on and off duty education.

NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Gabriel Howard of the 157th MSG, for his leadership, professional behavior, military bearing, respect for authority and ability to instill professional behaviors in subordinates. 

 Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Jeffrey Delorey of the 157th Medical Group, for epitomizing excellence, professionalism, pride and competence while serving as a role model for all Airmen to emulate. 

 First Sgt. of the Year: Master Sgt. Keith Russo of the 157th Maintenance Group, for his exceptional ability, dedication and commitment to the organization and its people.

The enlisted winners were awarded a plaque, a one-year membership to the Air Force Sergeants Association, the Enlisted Association of the National Guard of the United States, and to Mission's End. They won a Minute Man Fund Coin, a gift card from Service Credit Union and a $100 gift from the Chief's Group and a 60th Anniversary Poster of the KC- 135 Stratotanker.  

These members also became eligible to wear the New Hampshire National Guard Outstanding Airman of the Year ribbon.

 Three other award winners were also recognized for their contributions within the wing.

 Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Jordan Gauvin, of the 157th Operations Group, for displaying leadership that exemplifies the ideals of duty, honor and country.

Honor Guard Member of the Year: Staff Sgt. Ryan Ducharme, of the 157th MSG, for demonstrating the highest level of character, integrity and ethical conduct both on and off duty.

The Spirit of Hope award winner: Senior Airman Andrew Wahl, of the 157th MDG, for embodying the values of duty, honor, courage, loyalty, commitment and integrity.
Obertanec reflected on the deployments, training, and humanitarian efforts put forth by the wing throughout the past year.

“The effort and sacrifice you made this past year is unparalleled,” he said. “Each and every one of you has stepped up and given extra to support our missions, both state and federal. Your efforts reflect the highest level of our core values. I could not be prouder of your achievements this year.”